Top-Rated Injury Lawyers

New Jersey: 856-414-0010Philadelphia: 215-426-4493

Contact Us 24/7

phone icon
Firm Logo

New Jersey Workers Compensation Death Benefits Attorney

New Jersey Workers Compensation Death Benefits Attorney

Death Benefit Lawyers in Camden County, NJ Help Grieving Families Recover the Benefits They Need and Deserve After a Loved One’s Passing in Burlington County, Camden County, Cumberland County, and Throughout South Jersey

When someone dies as a result of a work-related injury or illness, their dependents may collect Workers’ Compensation death benefits. The amount of benefits available, as well as which dependents are eligible, varies by state. Workers’ compensation is a no-fault insurance program that provides benefits to employees who suffer work-related injuries or illnesses. Employees are entitled to these benefits regardless of fault; however, in exchange, they may not sue their employers in court. Workers’ compensation is considered an employee’s exclusive remedy. If a loved one died in a workplace accident and you are having trouble getting the benefits your family is entitled to, please contact an experienced New Jersey workers compensation death benefits attorney at DiTomaso Law for help.

Under New Jersey Workers’ Compensation laws, all New Jersey employers who are not covered by federal programs are required to have Workers’ Compensation coverage or get approved for self-insurance. They must display notice of such coverage in a conspicuous place at the worksite and employees should be informed of their rights at the time of hire and periodically thereafter.

Were You or a Loved One Injured at Work and Now You Have Questions? We Can Help. Tell us What Happened.

Types of Benefits a Qualified New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Death Benefits Attorney Can Help You and Your Family With

There are several types of Workers’ Compensation benefits available in New Jersey, including:

  • Medical benefits: Covers all necessary and reasonable medical treatments related to the work injury or illness.
  • Temporary total benefits: Provides workers with 70 percent of their average weekly wage when they are unable to return to work for more than seven days.
  • Permanent partial benefits: Depending on the type and severity of the injury, these benefits may be available when temporary disability payments cease.
  • Permanent total benefits: When workers are unable to return to any job, they may receive weekly benefits for an initial period of 450 weeks.
  • Death benefits: Dependents of workers who died due to their work-related injury or illness may collect 70 percent of the deceased worker’s weekly wage, up to the legal cap set annually by the Commissioner of Labor.

Rich DiTomaso was an excellent attorney. He was knowledgeable, thorough, and settled our case with a great result. We would highly recommend using this attorney.

Cheryl Ann Smith Budman


Five stars absolutely deserved here. They handled every detail, from insurance companies to doctors and bills. I highly recommend Richard and his colleges.

Marie Snow


Richard Ditomaso is an expert in his field. He goes above and beyond for his clients. If you’re looking for a great lawyer, give this one a chance; you won’t regret it. A+++

Michelle Palmieri

Who is Eligible for Death Benefits?

To collect Workers’ Compensation benefits, a worker’s injury or illness must be work-related. Workers whose conditions were not caused or worsened by their work activities or environment may not be entitled to benefits. Similarly, survivors of deceased workers whose conditions were not caused or worsened by their job may not be able to collect death benefits.

In New Jersey, only those who relied upon the deceased worker for financial support at the time of their death can receive these benefits. Dependents include:

  • Spouses
  • Parents
  • Stepparents
  • Grandparents
  • Children
  • Stepchildren
  • Grandchildren
  • Brothers/sisters
  • Half-brothers/half-sisters
  • Nieces/nephews

Dependents must be either under 18 or over 40 years old to collect death benefits, however, there are exceptions. Spouses, parents, grandparents, and physically or mentally disabled family members may collect death benefits regardless of age and those between the ages of 18 and 23 may also collect benefits if they are full-time students. However, spouses may only collect death benefits until they remarry.

Death Benefit Rates in New Jersey

In New Jersey, dependents may receive death benefits equal to 70 percent of the deceased worker’s average weekly wages up to the cap, which is based on the statewide average weekly wages of all workers. The maximum allowable death benefits for 2020 is $945. The benefits are divided among dependents according to need as determined by the New Jersey Division of Workers’ Compensation.

Up to $3,500 in burial and funeral expenses are also available to the person who paid or will pay those costs. There are additional factors to consider when calculating death benefits, therefore those seeking compensation should contact a local Workers’ Compensation lawyer who can evaluate their case and help ensure that their rights are protected.

Find Out How DiTomaso Law Can Help. Fill Out Our Online Contact Form or Call us Today at 856-414-0010

Compassionate New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Death Benefits Attorney Helps Families of Deceased Workers

If you lost a loved one to a work-related injury or illness, you may be entitled to death benefits. Contact an experienced New Jersey workers’ compensation death benefits attorney at DiTomaso Law to discuss your case. Located in Cherry Hill, New Jersey, we represent clients throughout South Jersey, including Cherry Hill, Mt. Holly, Vineland, and Camden County. For a free consultation, complete our online contact form or call us at 856-414-0010.

Frequently Asked Questions About Death Benefits in New Jersey

What is workers’ compensation?

What is covered under workers’ compensation?

What workers’ compensation benefits are available?

What should I do after a work accident in order to pursue workers’ compensation?

Can I sue an employer or another employee for my workplace accident?

Firm Logo Alternate

Get A 100% Free Case Evaluation

From A Top-Rated Personal Injury Attorney

Call: 856-414-0010 or Chat Live Now


Tractor-Trailer Accident


Drunk Driving Accident


Defective Machinery Accident

View All Case Results

“5 stars absolutely deserved here. If the need arises for legal representation again this is the only firm I will use. They handled every detail from insurance companies, doctors, and bills. I highly recommend Richard and his colleges and have to my friends and family.”

See All Client Reviews





© 2024 DiTomaso Law. All Rights Reserved.Disclaimer.Site Map.