Top-Rated Injury Lawyers

New Jersey: 856-414-0010Philadelphia: 215-426-4493

Contact Us 24/7

phone icon
Firm Logo

Steps for Filing a Workers’ Compensation Claim in New Jersey

October 16, 2019

Steps for Filing a Workers’ Compensation Claim in New Jersey

Have you been injured while on the job in New Jersey? If so, you could be entitled to Workers’ Compensation benefits. It is always best to contact an attorney first to get expert advice before you begin this journey. If you start out first without an attorney, there are some steps that you can take.

Obtain medical treatment. This will help to document what happened and how you are feeling as a result of the injury or illness you experienced and how it related to your job.

Follow all doctors’ orders. If your doctor recommends rehabilitation or medicines, follow that advice and keep copies of all prescriptions, bills, and other medical records associated with the doctors’ visits.

Report the illness or the injury as soon as possible to your employer. Notice of a work-related injury must be made within 90 days of the injury. It is not necessary to give the notice in writing, but it is advisable to do so. Additionally, your notice should specify which supervisors or foremen were on duty at the time of your injury. You should note the date and time of your injury and keep a record showing that you submitted the written notice to your employer. Keep a copy of all records for yourself.

Check on the status of your claim. Under New Jersey law, your employer must file a Report of Injury notice form with the New Jersey Division of Workers’ Compensation within 21 days of your illness or injury. If your employer has not filed a Report of Injury form with the state, it is a good idea to inquire about it and obtain an attorney to help facilitate this part of the process.

Check the decision issued on your Workers’ Compensation claim. Either your claim will be accepted, and your employer will start paying out benefits, including your medical bills and wage-loss benefits, or your claim will be rejected.

Seek legal assistance. You may want to contact an attorney as quickly as possible to assist in filing for either an informal hearing or a formal claim on your behalf. If you file for either of these, the clock starts ticking for an additional chance for your claim to be heard. If you still disagree with the finding on your case, you can appeal your case to the New Jersey Appellate Division court.

Vineland Workers’ Compensation Lawyers at DiTomaso Law Help Injured Workers with Their Claims

If you were injured at work and need assistance with your claim, contact a Vineland Workers’ Compensation lawyer at DiTomaso Law today. We can help you obtain the benefits you deserve for your injuries. Call us at 856-414-0010 or contact us online for a free consultation. Located in Cherry Hill, New Jersey, we serve clients throughout South Jersey, including Mt. Holly and Camden County.

Firm Logo Alternate

Get A 100% Free Case Evaluation

From A Top-Rated Personal Injury Attorney

Call: 856-414-0010 or Chat Live Now


Tractor-Trailer Accident


Drunk Driving Accident


Defective Machinery Accident

View All Case Results

“5 stars absolutely deserved here. If the need arises for legal representation again this is the only firm I will use. They handled every detail from insurance companies, doctors, and bills. I highly recommend Richard and his colleges and have to my friends and family.”

See All Client Reviews





© 2024 DiTomaso Law. All Rights Reserved.Disclaimer.Site Map.