Top-Rated Injury Lawyers

New Jersey: 856-414-0010Philadelphia: 215-426-4493

Contact Us 24/7

phone icon
Firm Logo

Workers’ Compensation Coverage in New Jersey

December 28, 2017

When an employee is injured on the job, they are entitled to receive Workers’ Compensation benefits. Each state has unique laws governing Workers’ Compensation coverage and claims. These laws state the statute of limitations for filing Workers’ Compensation claims, how long a worker must notify their supervisor of their accident after it occurs, and how much money the worker can receive for certain injuries. New Jersey workers should take time to educate themselves about the state’s Workers’ Compensation laws, so that they are prepared to advocate for themselves if they are injured on the job.

Expenses Covered by Workers’ Compensation

In New Jersey, workers are entitled to the following:

  • Maximum medical improvement (MMI): the point where the limit is reached when additional treatment will not improve the medical condition. In providing medical care, employers are permitted to discern which healthcare providers the worker uses and can opt only to pay for treatment they deem reasonable.
  • Compensation for lost wages while the worker is unable to work.
  • When the worker suffers a permanent injury, a lump sum payment can be made to compensate them for the expenses associated with that injury. An employee is entitled to this whether they can return to work in a limited capacity or not.

Compensation for the Loss of Specific Body Parts

The compensation for a permanent injury that a worker receives depends on the body part that was permanently injured or lost. State law determines the maximum amount of compensation a worker can receive for each type of injury. Factors include the body part injured, the year the injury occurred, and how much use of the part they lost.

In New Jersey, the following are the maximum amounts of compensation workers can currently receive for the loss of specific body parts:

  • Loss of an arm: $268,983
  • Loss of an eye: $102,600
  • Loss of a hand: $163,391
  • Loss of a foot: $136,344
  • Loss of a leg: $256,757
  • Loss of an ear: $13,680

The law also states the maximum amount of compensation a worker can receive for the loss of each finger and toe. The maximum compensation amounts for these body parts are correlated to the need for each finger and toe. For example, the maximum amount of compensation for a lost thumb is higher than the maximum compensation for a lost pinky. If a worker loses more than one body part in a workplace accident, they can receive compensation for both parts.

Cherry Hill Workers’ Compensation Lawyers at DiTomaso Law Represent Injured Workers

A workplace injury can be expensive, and seeking compensation for your injury expenses can easily become a frustrating process. The easiest way to handle the Workers’ Compensation process is to work with an experienced Cherry Hill Workers’ Compensation lawyer who can be your advocate. To get started with DiTomaso Law, fill out our online form, or call us at 856-414-0010 to schedule your initial consultation in our office. We are in Cherry Hill, New Jersey, and work with clients from South Jersey and Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Firm Logo Alternate

Get A 100% Free Case Evaluation

From A Top-Rated Personal Injury Attorney

Call: 856-414-0010 or Chat Live Now


Tractor-Trailer Accident


Drunk Driving Accident


Defective Machinery Accident

View All Case Results

“5 stars absolutely deserved here. If the need arises for legal representation again this is the only firm I will use. They handled every detail from insurance companies, doctors, and bills. I highly recommend Richard and his colleges and have to my friends and family.”

See All Client Reviews